Day 5 on the road // 6.7.17

Early wake up call from Mr. P this morning at 4:30am! It is 6:30 his time after all. Seems he’s back to his old self. He will never let you sleep in. It’s all ,”mow mow mow it’s time to get up!”. I was planning on getting up at 5am anyway to make it to a 6:15 yoga class at The Yoga Experience. OMG. It was just what I needed. It’s amazing how tight you can get from sitting in the car for 5 days. The instructor, Erin, was amazing. I seriously could not have asked for a better class. After class, I popped around the corner and got an almond milk latte at Firecreek coffee. Holy shit, I love experiencing a city in terms of yoga, coffee, and food. I know, so basic. But I seriously don’t give AF!

coffee.JPG

After this incredible morning, we showered up to head to the Grand Canyon! The Grand Canyon is one of those places you have to visit at some point in your life, right? I had been there with my mom and brother about 15 years ago, but sadly, I didn’t really remember much. It’s about an hour-ish drive from Flagstaff. We left Mr. P in the hotel. We planned to stay the night here again and I’m sure he was happy to have a day off from traveling.

The Grand Canyon is one of the most breath taking things I’ve seen. It’s insane how large this thing is. There is really only one draw back that I can think of…I’ll explain below.

grand canyon 2

I mean, look at that thing!!!!!

We got to the park about mid-day and parked at the visitor center. There was a 3 mile “easy” trail we decided to do. It really was just a side walk that hugged the south rim. In hindsight, I would have rather done one of the more adventure trails…which brings me to that one draw back…people. There was people everywhere. EVERYWHERE!!! If you are planning a trip, trust me…go in the off season…if there is an off season. Or if you have the means (which we don’t 😆,) take the helicopter service.

Next time we go, we plan to raft the Colorado River. You can do a several day trip, and from what I understand, it’s not for…wimps (for lack of a better word).

Overall, we did have a great time!!

Grand canyon 1

We are currently getting ready for dinner. After lots of Googlizing, we’ve decided to go to Shift Kitchen. It looks like just the right mix of casual atmosphere and interesting food. I’ll report back on how is was.

Oh, and as for Mr. P. He’s doing just fine. 😸

p in bag

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

